Nail Polish Stains

by Emily Grace

I realize that I’m an awful storyteller, so simply bare with me, there is a point to this post.

This past weekend, I decided it was yet again time to release my inner wild child. No this doesn’t necessarily mean late night shenanigans, questionable decisions, regrettable tattoos, or anything of the sorts. This just means that I decided to paint my nails a lovely shade of Lincoln Park After Dark by OPI. I was sitting on the couch in the apartment painting my nails and watching my roommate workout with Jillian Michael’s (No More Trouble Zones is awesome!). Somehow during this exciting activity I dropped the bottle of nail polish on the floor and spilled onto the carpet. Seeing as the carpet does not belong to me, I did have a little bit of a panic moment, but then again I forgot that I am the Stain Master!

After a minor internal panic attack, I began attacking the stain. Went and grabbed the rubbing alcohol, hydrogen peroxide, nail polish remover, hair spray and a cup of water from the bathroom then got to work. (Here’s the point to the story…)

If you ever spill nail polish on the carpet, here’s what to do.

Keep the polish wet. First pour a little bit of water on the spot and blot up as much of the color as possible with a rag. Next pour on a little bit of alcohol and scrub, a little bit of hydrogen peroxide and scrub, and spray some hair spray and scrub. I first tried to use the nail polish remover, but it didn’t get me far, but the others worked like a charm. It took 2 or 3 rounds of this, but it came out without a problem.

Note that you should probably read the label on the carpet before using these products. Apparently they can be harmful to the fibers in some carpets and you could have a bigger problem on your hands. It worked for me, so at least there isn’t a giant purple spot in our living room anymore.

Lessons learned: Do not paint nails over carpet. Perhaps I should avoid dark colors. I am incredible at removing stains.

Until the next stain… stay clean.

One Comment to “Nail Polish Stains”

  1. Emily I love your blog. It’s so fabulous 🙂 I hope you’re well!

Leave a Reply

