Sinful Potatoes

by Emily Grace

Sometimes it takes losing someone to realize how special they really are to you. This has been a tough week for me and my family because we lost an incredible woman. As my sisters and I pull our favorite memories of Dad’s mother we are reminded of the wonderfully witty woman that will always remain a part of us. My older sister Meghan not only looks the most like our Granny, but also has her love for shelling. My younger sister Sarah definitely got her sense of humor and wittiness–no one compares with Sarah’s humor. As for me, I received her love for shopping and affinity for nice things (don’t know if that’s really a good thing), and also her passion for cooking (though I’m not as adventurous as she was). Our Granny will always be remembered as an incredibly loving and inspiring woman, and I know that whenever I cook up one of her delicious concoctions it will be a pleasant reminder of how she in a ways has shaped me into the person I am today.

I have included one of my favorite things my Granny used to make. My mom included this recipe in a cookbook that she made for me and my sisters for Christmas and with a fun story/explanation on the name of the recipe. I hope you enjoy! I hope that this is something we’ll be eating when I go home this weekend. It will surely provide a little comfort to me… and my stomach.

The Famous Bettie Lou!

Granny’s Sinful Potatoes

The Sinful Potato casserole was always a favorite covered dish prepared by Granny. The name originates from the sinful amounts of Velveeta cheese and bacon that are mixed with the frozen potato cubes. This dish goes well with ham or makes a hearty offering for a covered dish breakfast. I like to double the amount of bacon when I make the dish to double the sin.

1 Bag of Ore Ida Cubed Hash Browns
1 Cup Mayonnaise
1lb of Bacon (this is the doubled amount)
1 lb block of Velveeta Cheese

1)    Cook bacon and then crunch into bits.
2)    Cut the Velveeta into small cubes.
3)    Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
4)    Place in a 9 x 13 glass pan.
5)    Cook in oven at 350 degrees for about 1 hour. The top of the casserole will turn golden brown. Check by tasting potatoes for softness.

I hope you make this recipe and share it with all of your friends. It’s exactly what my Granny would have wanted… spreading the deliciousness of this sinful dish to all.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

