Archive for February 14th, 2011

February 14, 2011

{Dresses}: BHLDN is here!

by Emily Grace

Behold y’all, BHLDN is here!

The moment that I have been anticipating has finally arrived. I was up bright and early this morning, and there I sat, on my couch in my pajamas, Law and Order SVU on the tv, scoping out the new wedding line from Anthropologie, BHLDN. Hope you got a sweet visual there.

Anyway, I’ve gotta say, I love the stuff, the dresses are unique and out of the ordinary, the accessories are precious and eclectic, and I’m obsessed with the cover-ups, but overall, I’m a little disappointed. Don’t get me wrong the stuff is beautiful, but I can’t really get behind a $200 headband. I was honestly hoping that we were finally going to get the wedding line that not only impresses, but brings bride’s wonderful accessories and details at an affordable price, but that’s not what I’m seeing. The dresses and such are great and are somewhat reasonably priced and along the lines of what Anthropologie already offers, but I had a bit of sticker shock on some of the offerings. However, do check it out, and there is so much more to come over the next few months.

Here is some of the eye candy I found.

Loving the shorter length and the flattering silhouette of the Fondant Tea Dress and crazy about the low bow detail on the Sweeping Taffeta Ball Gown. I just love bows, and I like that they did a bow in a completely different way than most gowns.

Again, it’s all about the details here! I just want to wear these dresses everyday. They are unique and fun, and would be flattering on so many body types. They can also work with more formal weddings as well as more casual depending upon the accessories that you pair with them, and knowing Anthropologie, I’m thinking the material is quality and comfortable. Yes, please!

Bows! Bows! Bows! I think these are just so super cute. Great details and a perfect way to add a unique statement to your wedding day attire. I love headbands because it keeps my wild hair out of my eyes, and I just love the statements that these BHLDN accessories make. Here comes the but. I love them, but I cannot imagine paying more than $30 for a headband, belt, sash, whatever it may be. Maybe that makes me cheap, but most of these accessories are more than $100. For wedding attire, it’s pretty typical, but I suppose I’m still disappointed.

At the end of my browsing experience, I’m relatively pleased. I feel like things are starting to move in the right direction. I love that we’re seeing unique dresses, accessories, and a sense of personality that brides can bring to their weddings. Now, I just can’t wait until retailers start charging reasonable prices, instead of jacking up costs because of the word “wedding.” Until then, I’ll still be browsing the regular stores and looking for bargains (clearance section, you’re my only hope).

Check out BHLDN for yourself, and let me know what you think. What is your initial reaction? And how do you feel about the prices? Do you think BHLDN is living up to all the hype?